FAQ Courses

5 Hour Class - FREQUENTLY aSked Questions

The 5-Hour Course, also known as the 5-Hour Pre-Licensing Course, is a DMV requirement for all drivers seeking to obtain a license. This course is held in one of our classrooms and can be described as an interactive presentation, where you watch videos and slides and interact with an educator and other students while learning about safe driving and the rules of the road. This class does not teach you how to drive. For supervised driving instruction, please book a driving lesson. 

Anyone taking the Pre-Licensing Course must present a current NY Photo Learner Permit or a valid interim permit with a NYS Government-issued ID card (such as a Non-Driver ID Card, Expired NY Photo Permit, and/or Expired NY Photo License) to the instructor at the pre-licensing course. 

If you wish to obtain a NYS driver's license, you must take the 5 hour pre-licensing course. You must bring the original certificate to your road test to turn in to the license examiner.

 

The 5 Hour Pre-Licensing Course Certificate is valid up to one year from the date of completion. If your Pre-licensing Course Certificate expires, you must complete the course again to receive the certificate.

If you have taken the 5 hour course with Drive Rite Academy within the past year, we provide a duplicate for a $25 fee. You must visit one of our office locations, during office hours, with proper identification. If your 5 hour certificate is expired, you must re-take the course (We can not provide a duplicate certificate). 

In order to be fair to all students, we must maintain strict standards when it comes to canceling and rescheduling. The 5 Hour course may be canceled or rescheduled without a fee as long as it is at least 24 hours in advance. If less than 24 hours advance notice is given, you will be subject to a cancellation fee. If you do not show up for the course, your voucher for the course will be forfeited, and you will have to pay the full price to reschedule.

We usually recommend taking the 5 Hour Pre-Licensing Course first, as that makes you eligible for your road test. We also consider the 5 Hour Pre-Licensing Course to be a great introduction course. However, it is not mandatory to take the 5 hour course before you begin taking driving lessons.

No, the course can not be taken online. 

6 Hour Class - FREQUENTLY aSked Questions

Yes, the course is approved by the New York Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to help you earn a 3-year 10% insurance reduction, and/or reduce up to 4 points from your driving record.

The course is required by the state to be a 6-hour length minimum. However, you can work through those 6 hours at whatever pace you choose. You do not have to complete it all in one day. You must finish the course within 30 days of registration.

You will learn topics pertaining to New York driving and traffic laws. These topics include: Highway safety, Alcohol- and drug-impaired driving, State traffic laws, Driving emergencies, Vehicle maintenance

 

The NY state DMV requires you complete your course within 30 days of registration for the purposes of point reduction or insurance discount. What if I'm taking the course for an insurance discount? Do you automatically report to my insurance company? You will be responsible for reporting your course completion to your insurance carrier to receive the 10% discount. We will send you a certificate of completion to submit to your insurance company.

You can take the course every 18 months; this will reduce up to 4 points on your driving record. You may also take a course once every 3 years (36 months) to maintain your lower insurance rate.

Check with your insurance company. However, typically, only one driver per vehicle may receive a discounted rate on their insurance premium.

You may call 1-800-800-7121 Monday through Friday from 9am to 5pm.

Upcoming FAQ Courses

Call 718-928-7048 to Book Now




Back to Top