10 Things Didnt Know Drivers License Points

By Simon
Usually, getting points is seen as a good thing, but not when it’s on your driver’s license.  While there are courses offered to help you offset any violation citations that you might receive, like an online defensive driving course NY, learning more about how these points are assigned and how they can affect you can better prepare you for when you receive your first traffic violation. We’ve compiled a list of ten useful pieces of information about traffic violations. We hope these help you make smart decisions while on the road.
  1. Insurance companies don’t use the state’s motor vehicle department point system.
    1. While both state motor vehicle departments and insurance companies use a point system to track your traffic violations, they use very different systems for evaluating points. The state’s system is used to track your violations, and if your license can be suspended or revoked. Insurance companies use their own point system to decide how much to raise your rate, depending on the type of violation.
  2. Not all states use point systems.
    1. There are actually nine states in the US that don’t use points to track your driving, but instead, simply monitor your driving based on your number of violations. In Oregon, if you have four convicted violations in a two-year period, you can lose your driver’s license for 30 days. But don’t think that having no points doesn’t affect your insurance. Auto insurers review your record regularly and can adjust your rates.
  3. Driving violations add up and can cost you your license.
    1. Many states have a limit for the amount of points that can be allowed in a time period before your license will be revoked. Penalties for violations or accidents on your record are different from state to state, so if you have questions on your specific state’s policies, consult with your state’s DMV.
  4. Not all violations will add points to your license.
    1. In some states, there are certain violations that automatically guarantee a suspended license, such as a DUI. You don’t have any points applied, but it can impact your insurance tremendously. Some smaller violations, such as broken lights, parking tickets, and fix-it tickets, will also not add points to your license.
  5. Points can stay with you for years.
    1. Every state has a different length of time that they hold the points on your record. Some states let points fall off of your record after two or three years, but more serious offenses can stay for over 10 years, like a DUI. Each state has their own system of dealing with removing and keeping points.
  6. There are ways to remove points quickly.
    1. If you’re worried about the number of points that are stacking up on your license, there is a way to get them removed faster than waiting a few years. Most states will allow you to take a defensive driving course to get a violation removed before it’s applied to your record, for minor violations. These courses, like Drive Rite’s online defensive driving course NY, can help keep your license points from affecting your insurance.
  7. License points can be given for more than cars.
    1. If you are caught driving an off-road vehicle, snowmobile, or even a horse under the influence of alcohol, you can be given a DUI ticket that can stay on your record for years to come. Be careful!
  8. Seatbelt tickets can add points.
    1. In New York, if you are ticketed for having a child under 16 without a seatbelt, you can have a violation of 3 points applied to your driving record. Make sure you tell everyone in your car to buckle up!
  We hope that these were helpful and cleared up a few things about traffic violations. You’ll learn more useful information at Drive Rite Driving School in New York. Contact us today to get started on classes!
Back to Top